The Williston Junior School, 1944
The Williston Junior School was a semi-autonomous branch of Williston Seminary and Williston Academy, offering a boarding program for students in grades 5-8. Founded in 1918, it shared facilities with the Upper School, but had its own Headmaster and faculty. Originally operating out of Payson Hall on the Old Campus, it eventually relocated to four buildings on Main Street. Present-day alumni will recognize the “Main St. Quadrangle,” or Clare House, Swan Cottage, Conant House (a.k.a. Williston Cottage), and Sawyer House.
We’ve reproduced a Junior School viewbook from 1944 – largely without comment, because the often charming images speak for themselves. It was a different time. (Copies of the viewbook are from donations by Ellis Baker ’51 and Peter Stevens ’60) Please click on any image to enlarge it.
In 1954 Headmaster Phillips Stevens and the Trustees decided to phase out the Junior School, one class at a time, the 8th grade to be incorporated into the Upper School program. The 8th grade was discontinued in 1966, until the creation of the Williston Northampton Middle School in 1972.