Academically Outstanding Students Honored

Three dozen academically outstanding students were honored at the Williston Northampton Upper School assembly on October 7. Academic Dean Greg Tuleja presented kudos and certificates to the students, who achieved distinction on either advanced placement or National Merit Scholarship qualifying tests.

AP exams, which test students’ ability to take the equivalent of an introductory-level college course, take place in May and are graded on a scale of 1 (no recommendation) to 5 (extremely well qualified). The AP scholars were recognized for their performance on all such tests they’ve taken previously at Williston. Senior Tanmay Khale achieved the highest award, National AP Scholar, for scoring 4 and higher on more than eight exams.

The following students were recognized during the assembly:

AP Scholar
Granted to students who receive scores of 3 or higher on three of more AP exams.

Henry Broeksmit ’16
Samuel Canney ’16
Amelia DeFrancis ’16
Patrick Gallagher ’16
Samuel Gechickter ’16
Ye Jun (Ryan) Jeon ’16
Ysabella Luikart ’16
Connor Murray ’16
Eugenia Nosyryeva ’16
Tomasz Paluchowski ’17
Aidan Rai ’16
Toula Sierros ’16
Calvin Ticknor-Swanson ’16
Theodore Wolfe ’16

AP Scholar with Honor
Granted to students who receive an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of those exams.

Leeanna Albanese ’16
Caroline Borden ’16
Yuwei Cao ’16
Heng-Jui (Henry) Chen ’16
Beatrice (Morgan) Fogleman ’16
Haoqi (Mike) Huang ’16
Zongzhe (Kevin) Li ’16
Sarah Lucia ’16
Haley McCreary ’16
Isabelle (Izzy) Tegtmeyer ’16
Sofia Triana ’16
Margaret (Maggie) White ’16

AP Scholar with Distinction
Granted to students who receive an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of those exams.

Maitri Dalal ’16
Josephine (Pinky) King ’16
Gleb Paschenko Romaev ’16

National AP Scholar
Granted to students who receive an average score of at least 4 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of those exams.

Tanmay Khale ’16

National Merit Letter of Commendation
High scorers on the PSAT/NMSQT receive Letters of Commendation from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise. Commended Students are named on the basis of a nationally applied Selection Index score that may vary from year to year. Although Commended Students do not continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships, some of these students do become candidates for Special Scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses.

Caroline G. Borden ’16
Beatrice (Morgan) Fogleman ’16
Josephine (Pinky) King ’16
Isabelle (Izzy) Tegtmeyer ’16

Williston would also like to recognize and congratulate the following alumni from the Class of 2015 for their achievements:

AP Scholar
Jennifer Carellas
Dina Dahdul
Nicholas Dalzell
Brittany Engelman
Stephen Goldsmith
Benjamin Greeman
Violeta Ilina
Sabaat Kareem
Yoonji Kim
Ryan King
Willis Pollard
Mackenzie Possee
Emily Sillars
Annika Smith
Oliva Smith
Zhaoyang Sun
Kyle Watson
Maya Wilson

AP Scholar with Honor
Samuel Atkins
Maisy Glick
Marcus Gould
Seneca Griffin
Soo Jeon Han
Gabriel Jacobson
Emma Kaisla
Jeremy Levine
Callum Poulin
Gabrielle Thomas
Ziqian Zhang

AP Scholar With Distinction
Erin An
Alec Bickerstaff
Emily Grussing
Cameron Hill
Seungbum Hong
Noah Jackson
Elyssa Katz
DongHo Kim
Hyunwoo Kim
Hyo Bin Lee
Yuet Ching Li
Katelin Murray
Emmett O’Malley
Jenna Phelan
Brenna Quirk
Elie Small
Evan Stark
Matthew Steinberg
Yiting Zhang

National AP Scholar
Lena Gandevia
Umi Keezing
Alexander Li
Emily Peirent
Loren Po
Cade Zawacki

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.