Athletic Hall of Fame: 1953 Boys Swimming Team

In 1953, the boys swimming team was among the strongest in the nation. Led by Coach Wilmot Babcock, the swimmers had an average meet score of 48.1-25.7 (+22.4) and formed one of the top 10 teams in the country — on a list that included colleges.

Among the accolades the swimming team garnered that year were the national prep records for the 100 freestyle, 200 free, 200 free relay, and 150 medley relay. Team members would set nine pool records for the 50 free (Harlow “Chip” Ide ‘55), 100 free (Rex Aubrey ‘53), 150 IM (Don Miller), and the medley relay.

At the heart of the team were swimmers such as Mr. Aubrey — who would later become a national champion in the 50 free and 100 free, and an Olympian, representing Australia, in 1952. The team also included Jack Erickson ‘53, a New England champion in diving, and three other All Americans: Don Miller (100 breast), Ed FitzSimmons ‘53 (150 IM Relay, 200 Free, 100 Free, 200 Free Relay), and Theodore “Skip” Kurrus ‘53 (200 free, 100 free, 200 free relay).

The Athletic Hall of Fame induction ceremony, dinner, and reception will be held on Saturday, June 8, 2013. Register to attend here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *