Category Archives: Athletic Awards

Williston Fall Athletes Earn Post-Season Honors

The following Williston students have received post-season honors for their play during the fall athletic season.

Girls Cross Country
Devon Greenwood ’13 – All New England

Boys Cross Country
Corey Palumbo ’13 – All New England
Andy Pierce ’13 – All New England

Field Hockey
Catie Laraway ’13 –  Western New England All-Star Team, NEPSAC Class B All-Tournament Team
Taylor Senecal ’14 – Western New England All-Star Team

Dylan Arthurs ’13 – All New England, First Team All Colonial League
Ledell Robinson ’14 – All New England, First Team All Colonial League
Marquis Francois ’14 – First Team All Colonial League
Sebastian Rivera ’13 – Second Team All Colonial League
John Woodside ’13 – Second Team All Colonial League
Frankie Zumbo ’14 – Second Team All Colonial League

Boys Soccer
Pierre DeLiso ’13 – Class A/B Western New England Select Team
Griffin Foley ’13 – Class A/B Western New England Select Team
Mark Richards ’13 – Class A/B Western New England Select Team, All State Team

Girls Soccer
Amanda Cronin ’13 – Western New England All-Star Team
Gia Parker ’14 – Western New England All-Star Team

Girls Volleyball
Elizabeth Calderone ’14 – Western New England All-Star Team
Khyrstyna Vatseba ’13 – Western New England All-Star Team

Boys Water Polo
Ryan Cavanaugh ’13 – All New England Team

Fall Team Highlights and Individual Honors

Before recognizing the nine fall programs and their accomplishments over the past season, Director of Athletics Mark Conroy took a moment to honor Al Lavalle, who worked in the Physical Plant Department for 3 years and in The Cage at the Athletic Center for a decade.

“Al had an incredibly profound impact on everyone who knew him,” said Conroy. “With all due respect to all of us who work with students on a regular basis here, no one in our community impacted more students than Al during those 10 years.”

Conroy then announced the following highlights and individual award winners. The award winners were also recognized during fall sports team night on November 16.

“I wanted to thank all of those of you who wore the blue and green this fall for competing so hard and so well,” Conroy said. “Your sportsmanship was outstanding.”

Jump to the section on:
Girls Volleyball
Boys Water Polo
Field Hockey
Girls Soccer
Boys Soccer
Girls Cross Country
Boys Cross County

Continue reading

Spring Athletic Awards Announced

The spring season athletic awards assembly was held on Monday, May 28, 2012. The Athletic Department presented the Blanket Award for participation—followed by the George Denman Award and the Alumnae Award, which are presented to a senior boy and girl. In addition, the award winners for individual sports were announced.

The Blanket Award is given in recognition of those students who have participated on a team in every season they have been in the upper school at Williston. The following students were presented Blanket Awards at the awards assembly.

One-year students
Keegan Dunlop, Sam Fallon, Dan Graham, Michael Grassi, Tommy Jenkins, Caitlin Lynch, Steve Metayer, Andrew Spruck, James Ward

Two-year students
Katie Cavanaugh, Valerie Moon, Jay Sylvia

Three-year students
Hunter Snyder, Kathryn Tomaselli, Noelle Messner, Alex Paolo

Four-year students
Maura Abbott, Connor Adams, Kevin Conroy, Jill Dahrooge, Brandon Diaz, Alex Doudnikoff, Lexie Duseau, Alex Garcia, Sam Goldsmith, Bridget Instrum, Walter McLaughlin, Addison Morse, Alex Nunnelly, Daniel Rowe, Connor Sheehan, Sam Slezek, Sarah Wilkie, Simon Wool, Katie Yochim

Continue reading

Holleran, Rowe and Thomas Win NE Championships

Three Williston athletes emerged as New England Champions at the NEPSAC Division II Championships held this past Saturday at Governor’s Academy in Byfield, MA.

Senior Daniel Rowe won the 100 meter dash in a photo finish with a time of 11.20 sec. Rowe also finished second in the 200 meter dash in 22.70 sec., which ties the school record set in 2005 by Sidney Baptista ’05.

Senior Joey Holleran finished first in the javelin with a toss of 157′ 2″ to claim a New England title.

In the girls’ meet, freshman Gabby Thomas successfully defended her New England title in the 100 meter dash with a time of 11.43 sec. Thomas also won the long jump with a leap of 17′ 7.25″, which is also a new school record. The previous record, set in 2007, was held by Annie Huyler ’08.

Kevin Conroy ’12 Recipient of the 2012 Dr. Frank L. Boyden Award

Kevin Conroy PictureSenior Kevin Conroy is this year’s recipient of the Dr. Frank L. Boyden Award, an honor presented by the Western Massachusetts chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame.

Conroy was honored at an award and dinner ceremony at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst on April 1. Continue reading

Winter Athletic Awards Announced

The winter season athletic awards were announced at assembly on Tuesday, March 6th. Below are the award winners for each team.

describe the imageGirls Varsity Basketball
Most Valuable Player Award – Natalia Ovando ‘15 Most Improved Player Award – Gia Parker ‘14 Sportsmanship Award – Maura Abbott ‘12

Girls Junior Varsity Basketball
Most Valuable Player Award – Gabby Thomas ‘15 Most Improved Player Award – Neysa Tapanes ‘16 Sportsmanship Award – Elyssia Reyes ‘14

Continue reading

Williston and Gunnery Compete For Miller Cup

DSC 0283millercupThe Williston and Gunnery football teams will renew their rivalry on Saturday October 8th at 7:00pm on Sawyer Field as they battle for the Ogden Miller Cup. This year’s game will be the 33rd overall in the series and the 27th played for the cup. Williston leads the overall series 17-15, though the battle for the cup is tied at 13 wins each.

Below is some information about the Ogden Miller Cup and the scores of all the games in the series between the two schools. Continue reading