Commencement 2013: Senior Awards

The Williston Northampton School celebrates the outstanding members of the senior class during two celebrations at the end of the year. Two prizes are presented during the Athletic Awards Ceremony, held on May 24, 2013; The George Denman Award and Alumni Bowl celebrate “general participation in athletics, with a special emphasis being placed upon faithful training, good sportsmanship, helpful spirit, and loyal devotion to the best interests of the school.”

The recipient of The George Denman Award was Andy Pierce.

The recipients of Alumnae Bowl were Amanda Cronin and Karly Simpson.

Other prizes, including Williston Northampton’s top three awards (Galbraith prize, the White Blazer award, and the Valedictory prize) are voted on by the full faculty. The following are the Senior Prizes, awarded each year at Commencement, as voted by the full faculty. The awards were presented on May 26 by Head of School Robert W. Hill III.

The Tara Michelle Katzner Memorial Prize is awarded annually to that student who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, determination and dedication.  This year the prize is given to: Sky “Zack” Maldonado 

The Henry E. Donais, Jr., ’59 Award is presented to a senior who has “manifested a love of the natural world and who has taken an active interest in the protection and preservation of the world’s environmental resources.” This year the prize is given to:  Evan Jacobson

The Tim Wallis, Class of 1962 Prize was established in memory of an English Speaking Union exchange student at Williston. The prize is given at Commencement to that senior “who gets much from the school because he or she puts much in.”  This year the prize is given to: Karlyn Simpson

The Class of 1942 Prize is awarded in recognition of “Outstanding Service to the School.”  This year the prize is given to: Matthew Freire

 The George H. Higgins Prize is given to “that student in the graduating class who has displayed outstanding character in school life.”  This year the prize is given to: Jiayuan Xu

The Katherine M. Ockenden, Class of 1949 Prize is given to that senior who “in the opinion of the faculty has contributed moral, positive leadership.”  This year the prize is given to:  Hannah Lewis

The Westcott E. S. Moulton Award, honoring a member of the Class of 1927 and Williston Alumni Secretary, 1961-1973, is presented to that member of the senior class who has shown a high degree of effort in publications, sportsmanship, leadership, and community involvement leading to continued loyalty and interest as an alumna or alumnus.  This year the award is given to: Mairead Poulin

The L. G. Treadway Citizenship Prize, established by Richard Treadway, Class of 1932, in honor of his father, is awarded to a senior who has been at the school for at least two years, has maintained a strong scholastic standing, and has given promise of future achievement.  The chief qualities to be considered are personal integrity and contributions made to the best citizenship of the school.  This year the prize is awarded toJilly Lim

The Joseph Sawyer Memorial Prize, honoring the seventh Headmaster of Williston Seminary, 1886-1919, is awarded to a young man who has made outstanding contributions to the intellectual and community life of the school.  This year the prize is awarded to: Jean-Gabriel Lacombe

The Dorothy Bement Prize, honoring a co-founder of The Northampton School for Girls, is given to the young woman who has exhibited excellence in her academic endeavors and in her contributions to citizenship and the overall life of the school.  This year the prize is awarded to: Haoshu Xu

The Henry Teller Prize was not offered in 2013.

The Archibald V. Galbraith Prize, honoring the eighth Headmaster of Williston Academy, 1919-1949, is awarded to that young man who in academics, athletics, and citizenship is exemplary, representing that which is best in the school.  The Galbraith prize is awarded this year to: Evan Jacobson

The Sarah B. Whitaker Prize, honoring a co-founder of the Northampton School for Girls, and co-Principal, 1924-1962, is also known as the White Blazer award.  The White Blazer is given to the young woman who has distinguished herself with the greatest contributions to the academic, athletic, and community life of the school while exhibiting exemplary leadership and integrity.  The White Blazer is awarded this year to: Devon Greenwood

The Valedictory prize is awarded to the first scholar of the class. It is a combination of two awards from an era in the school’s history, when the Edmund H. Sawyer Prize was given for work in the classical curriculum and the Horatio G. Knight Prize was given for work in the scientific curriculum.  These prizes are now combined into one.  It honors the student who by record of performance during the senior year is judged by the faculty to be pre-eminent in academic achievement.   This year the recipient of the Valedictory prize is Eric Tallman.

Congratulations to the Class of 2013!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *